Sunday, May 26, 2013

Stages of Grace by Carey Heywood

Stages of Grace

by Carey Heywood


Denial, Anger, Bargaining, Depression, Acceptance...

When facing death a mourning period is to be expected. But what if it's not a person but a relationship that dies? Grace and her boyfriend Jon have been together for three years. They live together and have shared many beautiful memories. Those memories are what keep Grace from admitting Jon has changed and is no longer the man she fell in love with.

Afraid of being alone and holding on to something that no longer exists Grace is a shadow of her former self. Her daily objective is to hide her pain from the world. Then, an unexpected letter sets off a whirlwind of potential life changes. In life sometimes the hardest thing to do is let go.

Amy's Thoughts~

I really didn't know what to expect going into reading Stages of Grace

Grace lives with her boyfriend of 3 years, and she's stuck. We go on a trip through the stages along with Grace.


Being that I am generally not a person who enjoys lots of monologue in a story I was surprised that this didn't bother me in this one. It was necessary to get an inside look at what goes on in Grace's mind. It helps create that connection to her. I was also engaging & help suck me into her world.

It's healing to see what Grace is like at the beginning of the book & the person she become at the end of the book.

Stages of Grace is an emotionally charged book. Leveling out at only 269 pages, as your reading it, it feels like 500. However, you are so engaged in the emotional roller coaster you're on that it shocks you to realize just how far into the book you are. This book can touch everyone in one way or another.

The Denial at knowing that a relationship is over, but holding onto hope that it can be saved.

The Anger we have all felt when we found we were wronged.

The Bargaining at which we decide - do we give it one last shot or move on?

The Depression over making the choices & questioning whether they are the right ones or not.

The Acceptance of realizing the decisions you have made were the right ones for you to give yourself what you deserve - happiness.

Carey Heywood - WOW! Just wow. Props for an amazing story! This book affected me so deeply, as I have been through each of these stages in my own life.

No comments:

Post a Comment